Day 3 – where I work

Hello and welcome to Day 3 of the 31 Days Blog Writing Challenge!

I am having a short coffee break in the lab right now and decided – why not show you all quilty friends my other side – the science geeky one! 🤓

I am a biologist and work in one of the top cancer hospitals in US (also the very FIRST one, historically!), Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center in Buffalo, NY.

It is a great place to work. Besides hospital part, there is a huge number of scientists and research labs here, all of us trying our best to understand and cure cancer.

Lab is a lot like kitchen in some ways and here is my corner:

Or closer yet, my lab bench, current state of things… (slightly messy)

Or the other part, where we work with cell and tissue cultures that need to be kept sterile (hence the biological safety cabinet, or as we call it – a hood…)

In these little flasks we grow cell cultures – most frequently human cancer cells that are a research model we use, to do experiments. (these are breast cancer cells, as I work in that area)

And here is my slightly messy desk too…

Roswell is now a part of a much bigger medical campus, Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus, a place slowly developing into a great community and workplace, part of a wonderful revival of downtown Buffalo.

If you are ever close by this neck of the woods, make sure to come and visit!

Of to do some more science, see you all tomorrow,

Love,

Marija

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment